Knock Out Big Writing Goals in a Few Minutes Per Day

Small amounts of writing add up in a big way.

N. K. Carlson
Publishing Guide

--

Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

Does it feel like you never have time to write? Same. I recently started a new full time job and it feels like I am suffocating. When I come home, the last thing I want to do is look at a computer screen. I want to read or sleep.

There are some who advocate writing seven days a week, 365 days per year. I don’t agree. Breaks and rest are fine as long as they don’t turn into week long breaks. Try to write five days per week and rest the other two. Even five minutes a day, five days a week will add up over the course of a year.

Let’s look at the math.

In a five minute sprint (with a good outline or a good idea of my direction) I can get up to 300 words. That’s not every sprint, so I’ll discount it all the way down to 150 words. 150 words in five minutes gets you to 750 words per week.

Multiply that times 50 weeks (give yourself a little break here and there) and you get 37,500 words in a whole year. That’s your baseline. That’s your minimum words you should hit for a whole year, if you are serious about writing.

For context, that’s a longer novella or perhaps a book for middle grade readers.

--

--

N. K. Carlson
Publishing Guide

Author. I write about religion, creativity, and leadership. YA Fantasy trilogy is out now! Subscribe to my email list: http://eepurl.com/gPIFRT