You Could Probably Just Be Working

Brian Groat
The Creator’s Path
2 min readOct 27, 2016

My name is Brian Groat, and I am a habit fetishist.

I’m obsessed with habits, habit formation, and pre-work rituals.

I read The Miracle Morning and started getting up at 5. (It didn’t last)

And Daily Rituals. Which was more helpful, but not as applicable. After all, I’m not blessed with a full-time creative schedule.

I spend an inordinate amount of time trying to figure out how to squeeze every ounce of creativity and productivity out of my day.

However, if I’m being honest with myself

I Could Probably Just Be Working

“Action is endlessly searching for the right lifehack to finally make you productive; right action is getting to work.”

- Kyle Eschenroeder

Every minute that I’m tweaking these habits. Or reading about how this person or that person managed their day. That’s another minute I’m not working.

Finding the Perfect System Won’t Solve All My Problems

Don’t let systems get in the way of just fucking working. This is controversial but I would say there is probably an inverse correlation between meticulously organized Evernote accounts and doing a lot of deep work. Over-organizing can be a kind of distraction.

-Ryan Holiday

Are systems important? Absolutely. Especially when you’re getting started.

But ask yourself. Am I already organized enough? Will the time investment I make in learning and implementing this system pay for itself?

Will I see a net increase in time, productivity, or income?

If not, you can get back to work. Leave the new system alone. Don’t even think about it.

Even My Heroes Just Did The Work

Asimov was once asked about his pre-writing rituals.

He was confused, what’s pre-writing? There’s writing, and not writing.

When pressed for an answer he said.

“I see what you mean. Yes! Before I can possibly begin writing, it is always necessary for me to turn on my electric typewriter and to get close enough to it so that my fingers can reach the keys.”

- Isaac Asimov

So relax.

Your system isn’t perfect.

But if it works. Then get working

Originally published at BrianGroat.com.

--

--