Overcoming that Blank Page

My experience overcoming that blank page, and what ultimately pushed me to start writing.

Mike Moloney
Self-Taught Motivation

--

That blank page. That ominous blank page. The entirety of four long months I stared at that page. Each and every day I would return to the computer with a new found hope. Every article I read and tweet I saw inspired me to start something new.

I was the only person who could change my situation, and it was time to do something about it.

So I returned to that blank page only to find myself at a loss for inspiration once again. I meandered through my scattered brain. I begged for inspiration from somewhere up there.

All of the articles and books tell you to write what you know. They say that if you share knowledge of a past experience or a new project you could easily write something wonderful from the heart. I can assure you it is not that simple.

After this dull period of blank pages, I decided to try flipping perspectives. The lack of inspiration was more so out of fear than out of sheer vacancy in my mind. I had this increasing fear that my first post would be greeted with poor remarks and little response. I was afraid my knowledge was not extensive enough to compete with some of the incredible articles already on the web.

Then I came to a realization. All of those articles about writing your first post were completely right. It is not a matter of the topic, however. It is a matter of simply doing it. One of the most powerful brands in the world lives by that phrase: Just do it. The only way I was ever going to improve was through constant practice and criticism. I needed to open myself up to the harsh world and simply start. I needed to write.

Forget the fear of rejection. Through failure I can find success — through writing I can find hope, that some day I can aspire to be as insightful as the great minds to precede me.

Currently working on FilterGrade. Say hi @moloneymike.

--

--