Gearing up for the new year

Team AMI
Sell with AMI
Published in
3 min readJan 9, 2020

This post was written by our CEO and co-founder, Amal Dar Aziz.

To round out a roller coaster of a year, my husband and I trekked up historic Machu Picchu as part of our belated honeymoon. It was the peak of the rainy season, and the stones set by the Incas in the 15th century were slippery, uneven, and steep. Fog and rain shrouded the mountain, and with barely any barriers along the narrow paths, the hour-long hike to the top became one of the most stressful treks I’ve ever experienced.

To make matters worse, I had forgotten to pack my raincoat.

Surreal photo of Machu Picchu from our visit

Despite the circumstances, what I did have was a determination to take in this amazing site. For that hour, I walked slowly. I could only see a few feet ahead. If I noticed someone walking quickly behind me, I let them pass. And, I took breaks when I felt out of breath. The hour felt grueling but when I finally saw the view at the top, the reward was right in front of me. And it was absolutely worth it.

What does this have to do with running a direct sales business? I found that the advice I had told myself to get through the hike wasn’t far off from the lessons I had learned from running a business.

You’re on a journey unique to you.

Even though many others seem to be walking the same path as you, the things that brought you there are different. It’s important not to get distracted by others around you and to be able to watch them pass without judging yourself. Everyone sets different milestones and makes progress at different paces.

Having the right tools and gear with you makes a big difference.

My hike would have looked differently if I had packed my sturdy raincoat, and even though I had bought a very basic last-minute poncho, I ended up soaked. In business, the tools we choose can be key to our successes and help us overcome challenges.

As you set goals for your business this year, are you investing in tools that will help you achieve your dreams? What can you bring with you today that will help you feel equipped to reach your goal? (I’m a bit impartial when it comes to the Sell with AMI!) Investing in systems that work for you and bringing them along on your journey can help you weather challenges down the road.

Caught looking serious while soaking in (literally!) the beautiful landscape around me

Most importantly, keeping the big picture in mind can help you take steps through the more immediate challenges.

When you’re taking the small steps it may feel like you’re not going anywhere, but before you know it, you’ll have accomplished your goals thanks to determination, persistence, consistency and most importantly: because you showed up prepared for the challenges that may come during the journey.

If you enjoyed this story, please click the 👏 button and share to help others find it!

About Us

We launched in 2017 with the mission: build both a product experience and a community for direct sellers around the world.

We would also love to work with you on future blog posts. If you would like to share your story and experience, send us a blog submission!

--

--

Team AMI
Sell with AMI

We’re changing how people build authentic relationships and sell the products they love & transforming the sales industry.