My All Time Starting XI- GK

Henry Curnow
semester1HenryCurnow
2 min readDec 11, 2018

This is my favorite question of all time. I love to listen to professional players answer this questions, and debate over it with my friends for hours on end. Since I was born in 2003, I do not have a good recollection of players that were playing before I was an avid soccer player, so my starting 11 will be way different than the actual worlds best 11. These are the players I watched on the TV with my mom during World cup 2010 in south Africa. These are the players that made me go in the backyard and recreate a goal they just scored when I was watching. These are the types of players I had stickers and posters of on my wall and shaped me to be the type of soccer player I am today.

GK- Guillermo Ochoa

The only true goalkeeper I ever developed a love for, besides Iker Casillas. The reason I picked Ochoa was Iker Casillas played the majority of his career at my least favorite club, Real Madrid. To be completely honest, Ochoa for his club teams is not very impressive. The performance he had in the World Cup 2014 will be something I will never forget. Named brick wall, his performance against Brazil was singlehandedly the best performance I have ever seen from a keeper. Even though it ended as a tie, his shutout versus Neymar, Fred, Oscar, and a Willian off the bench, seemed like a safe bet for a goal against Mexico, knowing their back line. Brazil took shot after shot, hitting 14 that game. But brilliant Ochoa found a way to keep every ball out, resulting in a 0–0 tie. His performance that game and every game that tournament will be one for the record books.

--

--