3. Personal Narrative About Soccer

Henry Curnow
semester1HenryCurnow
6 min readDec 13, 2018

State cup 2018. My whole life was fueled towards this season finale. My whole season was focused towards pushing to being the best soccer team in Kansas. When the seedings came out, our whole team was disappointed to see we were seeded 3. But this just added fuel to my fire of winning it all. Every coach didn't think we were the best 2003 team in Kansas, but the 3rd. I was confident that we were going to win the whole thing, yet being the 3rd most skilled team in Kansas. Our work rate would not be matched, and I know we would want it more.

Match 1: KC Legends Academy

We went into it thinking it would be a flyby. 3 seed vs a 6 seed. We had this in the bag, mainly because we have beat them comfortably every time we played them. They flipped the script, they wanted it more than us. We got the initial goal off a corner kick, but they did the near identical against us in the 2nd half. No one was happy with a 1–1 tie, especially because only one of the 4 teams in the group could advance to the final of the tournament. Blood sweat and tears were put into this game by me, but disallowed goals and poorly defended set pieces cost us a win.

Match 2: Rush Wichita Academy

Win or go home. The whole team was still upset after the disappointing tie in the first game of the tournament, and we had to bounce back to stay in the race to advance. The game starts off well, I score within 10 minutes off a 25 yard shot to the bottom left corner. Our lead doubles as our center mid plays me in on a through ball, in which I finish it by nutmegging the keeper. The game gets even better when I put away a classy cross to make it 3–0. The game of my tournament gets even more exhilarating when I finish of a 4 goal performance with an easy finish. This brilliant game and wonderful scoreline put us right back in the title race, but our hardest game was next, we had to win or tie versus the 2 seed, Sporting BV.

Match 3: Sporting BV Pre Academy

After an absolute roller coaster of emotions running through the veins of all the players on my team, this last game really decided what our fate would be. Keeping it simple, no one liked each other on either team. Both teams had players switching every year to the opposite club. This was the best matchup of the tournament, and the final already having one team booked, KC Elite Academy, they had thrashed all 3 opponents by 6 or 7. We knew if we got past this game, we would have the confidence to knock of a giant like that team. The best part of the whole game is that since we beat Wichita 4–0, and they gave up a goal against the bottom of the table team, all we would have to do is tie. The game starts, and so does the moaning and cheap shots. Yellow cards were flying out and plenty of players from both sides went down in agony after getting hit harder than normal. The first breakthrough came when the center back scuffed a pass and I collected it and ran by him. I carried through and had a 1 on 1 to put us up 1–0. Perfect chance, chipped the keeper, this should be 1–0 now. crossbar. The look on the other teams face was an igniter though, they knew they would have to play if they wanted to go to the final game. Halftime goes, its 0–0, no one a clear favorite whatsoever. The game speeds up the second half, mainly in our favor. The other team gets frustrated and starts to make dumb passes and give away free kicks. We defend as if our life depended on it, and after 80 minutes, a 0–0 tie never felt more like a victory. I had done it, made the state cup final. I have never done it before, never been so close to winning everything.

State Cup Final- KC Elite Academy

The team of all teams. State cup finalists or champions every year since the existence of state and junior state cup. Best players, best coaching, coolest jerseys. They had everything clearly going for them. After beating the first 2 teams 7–0, they cruised onto the final with the ability of resting their starters for the grand final. They were ready to win it without having to play. They knew they were bigger, faster, better at soccer. They knew they could pass it around us for 80 minutes and beat us and win another state championship. At the time, no one thought we had a chance, not even some of the kids on our own team. The game kicked off and they realized they would not be able to just win the game without playing. With our high pressing and good movement, we kept the ball for a while. I got a breakthrough as I was one on one with a slower outside back. I cut in, sprint out, wait for him to get to me, cut back in on my weaker left foot, and fire from outside the 18. Once again, the white posts hold me from scoring my 5th goal of the tournament. Life goes on though and so did the game. Shot after shot from them, and we knew they were bound to get one soon. The best sound of the half was the 2 tweets by the refs whistle sounding halftime. We were gaining confidence because we weren't losing after 40 hard fought minutes against a far superior club. Second half and things get flipped on its head after 10 minutes. Free kick, good delivery, great touch, we are down 1–0 in the state final. Everyones head dropped like it was game over. I knew if we truly wanted to win, we had to get better. 10 minutes pass and we aren't creating anything, and they nearly double their lead. With about 15 minutes to go, we get a free kick from about 35 yards out. Our service this whole tournament has been subpar so I was just expecting a floater to the keepers hands. Shocker, got the exact same thing. But this one was different. The ball ricochets of the keepers hip, and there it is. 1–1 off of one of the weirdest own goals I have seen to this day. The confidence was growing and growing, and I felt the tide turn. 5 minutes later I pick up the ball at about half line. I lay it off to my teammate and spin around to get in behind. The ball placement is perfect and I only have green space and 2 center backs left. I quickly cut inside to wind up for another shot but last second I decide no. My right foot swipes the ball to the opposite side, and the defender has been left for dead. The other center back tries to cover because I am inside the 18 yard box now, and that was when I released a low driven cross right into the feet of our attacking mid from 3 yards out. The goalie has already been beat and its an open goal for the taking. He takes it with class, tucking it away right down the middle. 2–1. All the agony of loss and all the work put in the past few years to even be in this game has finally paid off. We defend until the final whistle, and the game ends in triumph. My world has been turned, I had done my childhood dream. My constant work to get better has paid off, and we had won a state championship. I was the happiest I have ever been with soccer, and I would never want to get that taken away.

2 months later I joined the team that beat us. New beginnings and bigger triumphs.

--

--