Seven Proofs You are Amazing!

A different perspective from Raymmar Tiardo’s

Shira Lichtman
7 min readMar 23, 2014

This article is a direct response to Seven Reasons Why You Will Never Do Anything Amazing With Your Life. I copied the text of the original article and made minor changes to significantly modify the message of Raymmar Tiardo’s piece. I suggest you read both articles side-by-side to appreciate the contrast.

Yeah that’s right; you heard me… I’m talking to you… I’m reaching out by extending my hand.

I’m looking you in the eyes, (okay well, not really since you are probably reading this article, but figuratively, I am gazing at the inner-beauty and potential I know you possess) and telling you that you stand the hell of a chance.

I’m telling you that if you can read this article, look through this list and claim it as your own, then you should be very proud.

Empowerment comes from acknowledging the road you have ahead and working to pave a path that’ll lead you to greatness. Find a mirror, look yourself in the eyes, raise your hand and gently pat yourself on the back.

Got it? Now repeat that until you appreciate your worth and know how much I love you and believe in you. Now you may continue reading whenever you’re ready, if you so please.

1 :: Because You Have Failed Enough

You are uncomfortable in your mediocrity; but you are scared to try and take risks. That’s understandable. But I urge you my friend, to take only one tiny step into the water while still holding onto the railing. You can always back out. You will have my support regardless of your decisions. But I encourage you to dip one toe in the water; you might enjoy the sensation.

Because it is easier to talk about learning that new language as opposed to actually learning it. But that hasn't stopped you from signing up for the French class at your college.

Because you know that life can be extremely hard and complicated. So instead of giving up completely, you will just “sit this one out,” or maybe you’ll, “do-it-tomorrow!” to help you relax while you regain strength for the battles ahead.

Because you hate your job but won’t get a new one; because it is easy to reject rejection. You’ve been hurt before and you can’t stand the thought of having to go through the healing process yet again. But secretly you know that if you’ve survived it once, you WILL manage it this time around. And this time, your coping muscles will be stronger.

Because while you’re sitting around failing, I am out there letting you know that failure is strength.

Because as I fail, I learn, and then adjust my course to make sure my path is always forward. Like the process of annealing steel, I've been through the fire and pounded into shape. The shape of a face with delicate dents and incisions. The smile welcoming, inviting you to learn from my journey.

2 :: Because You Care What Others Think About You

Because you, like most people, have to fit in.

Because you believe that being different is only cool if you’re different in the same way that other people are different — and yet you express your unique creativity.

Because you are afraid to embrace your true self for fear of how the world will see you. You think that because you judge yourself, this means that those people must, in-turn, be judging you.

Because you care more about the things you've done as opposed to the stuff you possess.

Because while you’re out spending your money on new outfits, new cars, overpriced meals or nights at the bar, you’ll be making those experiences meaningful. And while you try to fit in with the world you’ll impact those around you.

Because your ultimate goal is to be able to recklessly abandon all insecurities and expose your true self to the world. You hope to become immune to the impact of your opinion and stand naked in a crowd of ideas; comfortable in knowing that while you embrace the mundane you still have the guts to explore the exceptional.

3 :: Because You Think You Are Smarter Than You Are

Because you have high standards for yourself. You expect the highest level of perfection.

Because you learned what you had to learn in order to pass exams in school but you challenge yourself to define that which really makes you smart.

Because you know learning is not only something people do in schools.

Because while you were away at college, you were studying life; learning about the world in a classroom gave you the basic analytical tools to eventually go out and learn it by living.

Because you and I have different strengths and weaknesses. But we still respect each other and are willing to learn from one another.

You are a winner in my book. You passed tests that are not graded on a bell curve or by percentages; tests that are graded by one simple stipulation: living.

4 :: Because You Don’t Read

Because you only read the things you are required to read, and from those works you gain a tremendous amount.

Because you think history is boring and philosophy is stupid; you wouldn't torture yourself by reading about topics you do not enjoy.

Because you would rather sit and watch “E!” or “MTV” while getting a pedicure. You don’t berate yourself for pampering yourself when instead you could be diving head first, into the brain of another man in an attempt to better understand the world around you.

Because you acknowledge that there is a lot of wisdom in the words of those who lived before us. That when you want to take up the challenge of reading, you’ll be sure to search through the multitude of words that are available to us now more abundantly than ever before.

Because you are probably not reading this article even though you know you should. You know that you’ll interpret my words of advice as me judging you for your struggles. I’m not judging you, I’m trying to help. But at least you read the first paragraph — that’s a start.

Because the people who are reading this are open to learning new things.

Because I’m teaching you to fish so I can feed you for a lifetime.

5 :: Because You Are Overwhelmed With Curiosity

Because you get your news from copy-cat members of the state-controlled media. And you are constantly challenging its validity.

Because you are willing to ask this simple question… “What if it’s all a lie?” and accept the possibility that maybe it is; that just maybe, the methods of mass media are under direct orders to: keep you distracted. And you never fall for it.

Because you see my strengths but refuse to own up to yours. But you’re working on it; working on appreciating you the way you appreciate me.

Because you thirst for knowledge, specifically on topics that interest you.

Because while you’re busy playing Candy Crush, or Megalopolis, you are finding ways that these games serve as metaphors to your life.

Because while you unwind from a long day with Tosh.o you’re learning about people; about what they find entertaining and you try and stipulate why this is so.

Because if we were to go heads-up in a debate, I would respect you. I would be open to hearing how you see the world, even if in the end we agree to disagree.

Because I would dedicate myself to understanding both sides of the argument so that I wouldn't by any means be judging you for thinking differently. And our disagreement will not effect our relationship.

6 :: Because You Ask So Many Questions

Because you question authority.

Because you question yourself.

Because you understand the power of properly placed questioning in life, respectful disagreements and standing up for what you know to be right in the face of someone telling you otherwise, even though you often feel too weak to question reality; protected by your fear-of-knowing-the-bitter-truth coping strategy.

Because you fear that you will give me all the information I need to destroy you by letting you talk. But I’m here to inform you that the opposite is true.

Because we study human behaviors by learning about ourselves.

Because I watch how you say the things you say just as closely as I listen to what you say; and I’m overwhelmed by how much wisdom and integrity you possess!

Because control comes, not from being afraid to speak, but from knowing your worth in the face of failure.

Because NOBODY will ever study the premise of your argument and destroy it from the ground level before you even get a chance to establish your ideas. Don’t be shy, dear, you have so much to offer.

7 :: Because You Can Handle The Truth

Because you are quick to admit that you don’t know the things you don’t know.

Because there isn't an article online worth more than the time you have spent growing in life.

Because if I told you everything could be different tomorrow you would eagerly wait for it to come so you could begin doing something about it, tomorrow.

Because sometimes being aware of what goes on inside me is more valuable than being aware of my surroundings.

Because you hope that even though I have not acknowledged you, that I at least have seen you. You need validation and that is what we are here for in life — to create a supportive community for one another.

Because, I have a hard time appreciating my worth, just like you do. And I am trying to help you see your inner strength in sincere hopes that while I encourage you I will inspire myself. If I stuck my tongue out, just once, I would taste the lemon-drops and gum-drops that are falling from the sky — for ME.

Because you would become an instant addict. Unable to pull yourself from the teat of truth. Finally able to understand your lack of understanding, and then you would see; then you would know that the only person responsible for your accomplishments, is you.

--

--