Semicolon Spotlight Series: Lovie Okum

Semicolon Africa
Inside Semicolon
Published in
4 min readAug 1, 2022

How Lovie Okum is Transitioning into a Global Talent Through Semicolon Software Engineering Training.

Lovie Okum

Technology has eroded the hiring space as with other aspects of our life, and with it, it has become much easier to become a global talent. Becoming a global talent means the new land of opportunity for jobs can be anywhere and can come in many forms. From working remotely for a foreign company in faraway zones to being paid to move over to work in the abode of these companies.

In this very first Semicolon Spotlight Series, Lovie Okum (Software Engineer, Cohort 7) talks about transitioning into tech, deciding on software engineering, challenges she faces, and becoming a global talent.

  • Let’s start with transitioning into Tech. How was it for you?

Lovie: I would say I have been in tech since my University days in 2014. I studied computer science at the Federal University, Otuoke. I was fascinated by programming and was willing to learn more, so I started chasing learning centres, boot camps, online and physical training or whatever was available then to help improve my skills up until I found Semicolon. The journey has been hard, but I can honestly say that it was worth it.

  • Was software engineering the only option you wanted? If No, why and how did you settle for it?

Lovie: At the time I embarked on this tech journey and started learning, I didn’t know that all I was interested in, were all under Software engineering. Looking back now, I would say that I was literally chasing software engineering even before I knew what it was. Software engineering wasn’t the only option I wanted, but it was the best path for me, and I am glad I followed through.

  • We hear you are the latest global talent as a Semicolon Ancestor. How did you get the job?

Lovie: WOW! A global talent you say? Well, thank you. I applied for a backend engineering role via glassdoor, and I was referred to apply for a full-stack position instead as it best suited my profile. I went ahead to apply again. I got an invite for my first interview with one of the software engineers, who wanted to know me, my experience and all. Then, I was asked if I would like to relocate for the job as it is a full-time role and I would need to be present at the location (Germany). I was then given an assignment/technical task to complete. After that, I did the final interview with 3 software engineers, HR and one of the senior Managers. After all of the interviews, I then got the offer call. I was very excited and happy.

  • How particularly do you think Semicolon shaped your growth?

Lovie: I think Semicolon helped me become a better software engineer. Semicolon also taught me more self-discipline. It also helped me understand and showed me how much I could handle the responsibility of adulthood. Overall, I would say that Semicolon has shaped me and made me a better human.

  • What challenges do you face being in tech?

Lovie: I think my biggest challenge is Imposter Syndrome. I have been fighting it and I am still fighting it. I recently read somewhere that when you start feeling or having imposter syndrome, it means that you are being challenged and moving out of your comfort zone, and you are making a conscious effort to learn and improve.

  • How do you deal with these challenges, particularly the ones you face as a woman?

Lovie: To be honest, I talk to God. I talk to friends, mentors, colleagues, and even family because I find that I get good advice most of the time from them. It also helps to reduce the burdens of whatever the challenges are. I also try to have time out. I rest when I can and start over whenever I fail.

  • Do you have personal projects you are working on?

Lovie: I do have personal projects. My current and biggest personal project is working on myself. I am learning a new programming language and perfecting my skill in other programming languages, frameworks and tools. I am also learning to speak some foreign languages. I am practising DSA(s) to help sharpen my problem-solving skills, and I am also reading interesting books that would help improve different aspects of my life.

  • Your advice to tech enthusiasts?

Lovie: My advice to tech enthusiasts would be, don’t give up. It doesn’t get easier, but don’t give up. Make sure you keep fueling that hunger to learn and keep learning because learning never stops. Make yourself valuable so that you can give value. You cannot give what you don’t have. Remember that you are already on the right path, and nothing is new under the sun.

--

--

Semicolon Africa
Inside Semicolon

Semicolon is bridging the gap in Africa's tech talent and empowering businesses to succeed. Follow us for insights & stories as we shape Africa's tech ecosytem.