Semicolon Spotlight Series: Ayodele Noutouglo

Semicolon Africa
Inside Semicolon
Published in
3 min readSep 29, 2022

This series spotlights Semicolon Ancestors (graduates of Semicolon Techpreneurship Program) who are currently working in different sectors and roles across the globe.

Today’s spotlight is on Ayodele Noutouglo, a Semicolon Ancestor (Cohort 5) and now an Elder (employee). He sheds light on why he currently works as a product manager, even though he trained as a Software Engineer.

Why did a software engineer transition into a product manager? Okay, scratch transition, because AY, as fondly called, said it’s not a transition. It is growth. Hear him out.

  • Please introduce yourself.

My name is Ayodele, I work as a Product Manager for one of Semicolon’s flagship products, Enum. I like to think of myself as a ‘solutionCraftsman.

  • Explain what you do in one simple sentence.

I solve problems for individuals and businesses by defining, executing and launching exceptional products that enable them to meet their needs.

  • You are a software engineer, who has also transitioned to a product manager…can you tell me the reason for the change?

Yes. I don’t consider this a change, however, but growth. It means that in addition to Software Engineering, I have been able to discover and develop an important pack of skills that enable me to contribute to the effective management of a product via any of the product manager archetypes. So I transitioned as a way of reflecting growth in the development of such skills as are essential for product strategy, team leadership and product execution, to mention a few. It means that I still do some Engineering too. Haha.

  • What has the transitioning look like? And what new things did you have to learn?

It’s been really interesting. I went from mostly sitting by myself, doing my work to having to work with every single person on the team, phew! As a Scrum Master, it became important for me to realize the essence of communication, prioritization and of course, organization.

I had to learn the product management craft, the frameworks, the methodologies, the tools and more importantly, be able to put them into practice.

  • What do you enjoy doing most in your day-to-day job?

I mostly enjoy releasing features that meet the needs of customers and businesses. I also enjoy the thrill and camaraderie that comes with working with teams and driving alignment towards shared goals and a collective vision.

  • Productivity tools you can’t go a day without?

Hahaha. Everything Google! Gmail, Docs, Sheets, Slides. I even have the adorable Google Drive installed on my PC and will soon adopt it as my hard disk when I increase the storage capacity. Then my endearing Atlassian Jira. I am literally in love with Jira as it is very useful in enabling effective product execution.

  • How do you unwind?

I like to go on outings with colleagues or meet new people, have fun and eat good food, but I also love to spend time alone or with a cherished friend to think through and discuss systems, innovations and worldviews.

--

--

Semicolon Africa
Inside Semicolon

Semicolon is bridging the gap in Africa's tech talent and empowering businesses to succeed. Follow us for insights & stories as we shape Africa's tech ecosytem.