Semicolon Africa
Inside Semicolon
Published in
3 min readAug 26, 2019

--

Today is National Heroes Day! — Meet Our Hero Florence Asuelimen

Nations, like people, have their individual destinies and no nation has ever existed without the undying sacrifices of heroes; individuals who have risen to the challenge and made enormous impacts on the lives of people. Thus, it can be said that the success of nations, is built upon the sacrifices of many heroes. In commemoration of National Heroes Day, we are joining the world to celebrate and use it as a platform to highlight the good works of the unsung heroes in our midst, those who are using their skills, influence and efforts to make impacts in the lives of people, those who have fought against challenges to arrive at where they are and those who are enhancing the image of the country and making the world a better place.

Originally established in the Philippines, the National Heroes Day celebrated on August 26 pays tribute to all heroes, known and unknown. One of our heroes, worth celebrating is Florence Asuelimen, a Software Engineering Techpreneur and Digital Native at Semicolon. Florence fought against all odds to make her way into cohort II of Semicolon Techpreneurship Programme and yes! we consider her to be one of our heroes [heroines for the grammatical world]. In a short chat, she shares with us on some of her opinions. Excerpts

“With Semicolon, I’m on a journey to build innovative solutions that would advance the society at large” she explains”

We spoke with Florence and here is how it went. Excerpts.

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m an innovative designer, a tech enthusiast and an essentialist with a disciplined pursuit of less but better. I enjoy working with people to achieve a common goal. My love for tech had led me to build a career as a software engineer. I’m also passionate about girls’ empowerment and service to humanity. My educational background is Banking & Finance

Tell us a bit about your growing up and what your aspirations were.

I’m one of the six people that make up my immediate family. It was tough growing up after I lost my dad, but was fortunate to be raised by my single mom who is a teacher. She influenced me to be entrepreneurial, open-minded and value continuous learning. Her “never give up attitude” inspires me to go beyond my limit in achieving anything I could think of.

Have you been involved in volunteering and humanitarian projects? Please share.

Yes.

Women in Tech Africa (Lagos Chapter)

Women in Tech Africa is a program that inspires as well creates a positive impact on young women and entrepreneurs in technology.

How has Semicolon impacted your life; share your experience.

Long before I joined semicolon, I’ve always blamed the government for every problem in Nigeria. After I became a native, my perspective towards that change. I began to see problems as opportunities and ways to unveil my potentials and put my talent to work. I now think and act innovatively in all I do. With Semicolon, I’m on a journey to build innovative solutions that would advance the society at large.

What solutions do you hope to build with respect to economic and social challenges?

I hope to build a solution that creates awareness about the importance of technology in our present world and also prepare young people for the future world of work.

If you’d share a word of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

Never give up, you can achieve anything. As one of my facilitators would always say “anything is possible as long as you can think or imagine it, the solution might not be available but it could be invented by you. Who knows?”

Any favourite meal? Colour? Quote? Sports figure? Let us know.

Meal: You can never go wrong with Semo and Egusi soup Color: Black, it’s neutral, it goes with any colour

Quote: “Never give up on what you really want to do, the person with big dreams is powerful than one with all the facts” Albert Einstein.

Do you consider yourself a hero? Tell us!

Yes, being a hero is all about intention and consistency, it all begins from your mind.

--

--

Semicolon Africa
Inside Semicolon

Semicolon is bridging the gap in Africa's tech talent and empowering businesses to succeed. Follow us for insights & stories as we shape Africa's tech ecosytem.