Seminary Spotlight is a feature in our newsletter Sexuality: From the Seminary to the Sanctuary where we ask a different scholar the same six questions about their work at the intersection of religion, gender, and sexuality.

Seminary Spotlight: Q&A with Whitney Bond

Religious Institute
Seminary Spotlight
5 min readOct 27, 2016

--

What’s your theology of sexuality in 10 words or fewer?

Sexuality is not mutually exclusive from spirituality and God.

Growing up, what did you learn about sexuality in religious spaces? And how, if at all, has that influenced your approach as a scholar and teacher?

Growing up, sex, as in the practice of it, was mainly discussed in two contexts: after a teenage girl or unmarried young woman became pregnant in the church and to say that sex is what you do once married (of course between a man and a woman). The first time I realized something was wrong with our conversations about sex was when my mother, who was 31 at the time, had to stand before the congregation, apologize for being pregnant with my brother out of wedlock, and step down from her position with the children and youth ministry because she was no longer considered a good, Christian example. I was only 12, but I could not comprehend why a fully adult woman needed to apologize for what was her choice. In my eyes, it did not make her any less of a Christian or a good mother.

This experience, coupled with seeing other young women in our congregation becoming pregnant, led to the conversations with our youth leaders and ministers. Their bottom-line message was a major disconnect. They were preaching no sex outside of marriage, while that was not a reality in that space. There was no conversation about safe sex. They believed if they discussed safe sex, then they were promoting sex outside of marriage. These conversations did not necessarily reflect the beauty in our sexuality or how it can be used as a spiritual act between oneself and one’s partners.

For me, there always seemed to be a disconnect. Our bodies were “bad” because we were taught that any and everything about our flesh was bad. The negative images totally impacted my spiritual formation. Not just for myself, but for others as well. Now that we are adults, we have discussed how problematic those teachings were and how many of us have had to work extremely hard to stop those tapes from playing in our heads. As a result, when I am approaching texts, I try to carry our narratives and allow them to shape my hermeneutical approach.

Tell us about your research/project. What draws you to work at the intersections of sexuality, gender, and religion?

With my research, I am attempting to answer the question of how do we, as pastors and ministerial leaders, create safe and sacred spaces for all persons, while intentionally being inclusive of and affirming how our congregants express themselves. I began delving into this question when I presented at the American Academy of Religion in 2014 after seeing the responses toward Andrew Caldwell’s “deliverance” during the annual Holy Convocation for the Church of God in Christ. I believe, wholeheartedly, it is ungodly to affirm someone’s gift and what they bring to the church, and not accept their full humanity. This belief is not just limited to sexually queer members, but also our single members who may not have a desire for marriage and/or procreation. No one can be left behind! We were all created in God’s image. Such diversity should not only be celebrated, but embraced within our spiritual locations. As leaders, it is our duty to create sanctuaries that are sacred, safe and sound in theological approaches as it pertains to our bodies.

I chose this project because of the silence I encountered around sexual education and identity, particularly when it comes to spiritual formation within the context of the Black Church. Many churches teach doctrine and theology that is not reflective of a God who loves and affirms our bodies and sexuality(ies). Regardless of how one expresses themselves, our bodies are never good enough. We lack language that speaks to the beautiful possibilities of sex.

What do you wish every graduate theological student knew about religion and sexuality?

I wish every graduate theological student knew and actually believed that religion and sexuality do not have to be mutually exclusive. Additionally, sexuality, sexual identity, and sexual expression are not black and white areas. They are extremely fluid and God can be in the midst of them all.

As you know, our newsletter is called “Sexuality: From the Seminary to the Sanctuary.” How do you make connections between theological study and practical life and ministry?

God has not called me solely to the church or the academy. For me, I believe that my work will be interdisciplinary. Because I believe in the power of narratives, my research is heavily influenced by those who share their sacred narratives with me. I do not believe churches can be extremely effective without dealing, intentionally, with the day-to-day needs of its members. Ministry has not always been at the altar on Sunday mornings. It has been rolling over in the middle of the night and having someone who is suicidal reaching out to me because they felt as if the institution of the church has failed them. It has been young adults and parents of children who identity as LGBTQ pleading with me to continue pushing the boundaries and glass ceilings because they and their children still want to believe God loves them. If I cannot be of any good to those who have been labeled “the least of these,” then I do not believe I am operating the gifts God has given me.

Lastly, three quick-fire questions.

Book, activity, or article you love to teach when addressing religion and sexuality: Sexuality and the Black Church by Kelly Brown Douglas.

Favorite self-care practice: COOKING!

What you’re currently reading: Sisters of the Yam: Black Women and Self-recovery by bell hooks

Whitney Bond is currently pursuing her PhD in Theology, Ethics & the Human Sciences at Chicago Theological Seminary.

All views expressed in this interview belong to the interviewee. Please feel free to respectfully share your thoughts, responses, or perspectives in the comment section below. Sign up here to receive future editions of our newsletter including “Seminary Spotlight” interviews.

--

--

Religious Institute
Seminary Spotlight

The Religious Institute is a multi-faith organization dedicated to advocating for sexual, gender, and reproductive justice in faith communities and society.