Organize EmojiOne: a simple javascript script!

Alberto Bonacina
Sempre al computer
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2017

This is my first article in english, and I want to write it not in my mother language (italian) because I want to reach as much people as possible. Some weeks ago I discover EmojiOne, a simple but beautiful library with over 1800 emoji divided into 9 categories; me and other developers can use it in every sort of project: apps, web, books, art and many more.

So I downloaded all the Emoji in this zip file, but I want to organize it by the categories listed on the website: smileys & people, animals & nature, food & drink, activity, travel & places, objects, symbols, flags, diversity. I downloaded the code of the homepage of the emojione’s website where I selected the corresponding filter and I created the 9 html files. All the code is in this Github Repo: organizeEmojiOne.

To run the main file you need Node.js installed on your machine and these modules: cheerio, async and fs (you can install all of them with npm or your favourite package manager). At the end a file named organized-emojione.json contains all the emoji, divided by category with name and path in a convenient json format that you can use in your app (like I do with an Android App that I’m developing).

Code Strong, Alberto

PS: In the Developer Toolkit there is another JSON file with all the emoji but it’s not what I want and I cannot use it in my project so I created my version.

--

--