Standing with our women in uniform

Claire McCaskill
Senator Claire McCaskill
3 min readMay 13, 2017

Sometimes it’s the big things — like fighting our state’s opioid crisis or protecting the pensions of hardworking Missourians — that define my time as a Senator. But sometimes, it’s the small things — the one-off accomplishments that only happen when you go out into Missouri communities and hear directly from people what they need from their elected leaders.

Today I’m proud of one of those “small things,” and I want to share that story with you now.

Last year, on one of my tours around the state, I visited Missouri’s defense and cybersecurity installations. I got the chance to speak with men and women in uniform, representing active duty and reserve units, about what they need from me and what they need from Washington. We spoke about a lot of “big things”: changing the way we attract and retain qualified servicemen and women, securing funding for needed programs and enhancements at bases across Missouri, resources for military families, and giving our military a real, honest budget so they can go about the incredibly difficult task of protecting our nation.

But one thing that came up in a conversation with women in uniform, was that women in the Army were required to wear skirts at social events, while men wore slacks. As you might imagine, they highlighted for me the unfairness of that regulation, and pointed out that this requirement had already been lifted for official duty events. I agreed. It seemed to me an unnecessary, gendered requirement from days gone by, and I promised to look into it and make their case.

Speaking with soldiers at Fort Leonard Wood

After returning to the Senate I worked with my staff to learn more about the requirement and why it may exist, and after examining the facts, wrote a letter to Sergeant Major of the Army, requesting that as the Senior Enlisted Advisor to the Army Chief of Staff, he reconsider this requirement and allow women in his service to opt for slacks alongside their male counterparts.

Yesterday, that regulation was changed.

This change has been made effective immediately and will be permanently incorporated into the Army’s uniform regulation the next time it is updated and published.

I’m proud of this. Like I said at the start, I know this may seem like small potatoes in a world filled with big problems to solve. But every step forward is still a step forward, and if I can make service to our country just a little bit easier for our women in uniform, then that’s still a win.

Discussion in Jefferson City about supporting military families

The best work I do is based on what I hear straight from Missourians. That’s why it’s so important to me to make myself available to you, through town-halls, weekly coffees with constituents, statewide tours, and social media.

I’m proud of every man and woman who chooses to enlist, and I’m grateful to their loved ones who shoulder the burdens of service as well. My office doors are always open to service members, veterans, and military families in need, so please don’t hesitate to reach out.

God bless our troops and God bless America.

--

--

Claire McCaskill
Senator Claire McCaskill

A 4th generation Missourian who represents MO in the U.S. Senate. I’m a Democrat, but also a moderate, who irritates folks of both parties with some regularity.