2 Weeks Left

Kat Fenton
Senior Capstone 2019-Spring
2 min readApr 15, 2019

I’m not crying, you’re crying

I feel like I’ve accomplished a lot this week. After some guidance from DJ, and then further discussion with another web designer, I feel like I was able to really push my branding and incorporate it into the rest of my site. This is something I’ve struggled with for a while. My home page always felt super solid and representative, but my following pages didn’t. Not to mention there was a lot of confusion with the hierarchy. Now, it’s looking pretty solid.

Fresh, colorful, and unique new layout

So this is what we’re looking at for a new layout of the Know Your Vote pages. It’s a lot less black and a lot more condensed. I’m still finessing the heirarchy of Local versus Candidate/Issue title so there’s a bit more obviousness into which one should be read first. But other than that, I think it’s take real steps from last week. I’ve also updated the candidates page as well!

More color, more fun!

So I’ve really incorporated this broke box style into pretty much every page that I can on my site. It’s become a great element for pushing consistency. I’ve also worked out a bit better what I want to do with the icons. I think having them be colorful and random adds a bit of fun to the layout that really helps with the inviting nature of my brand. You’ll also noticed I’ve added a color to the support vs. against icons under the hot topics headline.

Some smaller changes include: updates to the menu, black box be gone, finishing out the Find Your Match page as well as beginning to fill out the About page. I’ve started on the layout of my process book as well. Not to mention my poster goes out this week for printing too.

Filling out the Find Your Match questions

So tldr; Many changes have been made and I’m feeling confident that this will be done in time for the show! I’ll most likely have the rest of my information in by Wednesday and be able to complete another round of user testing. After that, it should be smooth sailing (or at least smoother hopefully).

--

--