Capstone: In Reminiscence

Justin Donaldson
Senior Capstone 2019-Spring
3 min readApr 29, 2019

The capstone project has basically been nine months of constant doubt, slight regret, and euphoric explosions. You choose a topic you think you’re passionate about, it morphs into a monstrous beast, you reign in this beast, then you create something that you had no idea you were capable of.

Time Is Scarce

My experience with capstone was interestingly unorthodox, because much of the production took place while I was on my final Co-Op internship—and this is where I add my first piece of advice: if you are able to make progress on your project during Co-Op semester, take advantage of that time. You’ll be much much MUCH less stressed when spring semester comes along, and it’ll allow you to contemplate over your topic more in case you’re considering making changes.

Since it was the autumn season, the weather was manageable for shooting and the foliage still looked somewhat alive. I was also living in New York City, which provided plenty of resources for shooting locations, cast & crew selection, equipment and scenery.

Once I had the shoot completely finished, that left post-production and the creation of the video essay for the final semester (which is quite a bit more manageable).

Inspiration Can Be Limiting

I hit a another minor roadblock over my last semester, and hopefully this can help others as well: when seeking inspiration, don’t corner yourself into imitating another style exactly. It’s great to find relevant imagery that you will influence your work, but chances are your project will look different from those images, so trying to mimic them could cause more confusion and frustration.

Nonetheless, I finished strong and ended up with a project that I’m insanely proud of. It’s incredible what you can do with a little push and a lot of sleepless nights (just kidding, but not really).

Here are some lovely final deliverables for you to watch and enjoy:

CASSETTE ROMANCE (2019)

EMPATHY IN FILMMAKING

(This video is not the FINAL final—my laptop is currently locked at DAAP for DAAPWorks and I don’t have the file, but it is exactly the same aside from a couple minor changes)

The Show

Here are some quality iPhone photos showcasing my DAAPWorks setup:

My poster resembles a movie poster, and a red curtain separates my space from the rest of the room
The room is meant to be cozy, intimate, and theater-like
I designed a moving DVD menu allowing viewers to decide what they want to watch
Headphones and a remote (with instructions) are provided for the viewers, along with business cards
My final show poster

Deliverables

You can find my process book, film, video essay, and show poster in this folder:

Thank you for following my journey, and I wish the best to all future capstone projects and adventurous endeavors!!

A photograph of me, Justin Donaldson, during the Cassette Romance shoot

--

--