_final_final_final

Margot Harknett
Senior Capstone 2019-Spring
2 min readMay 3, 2019

Capstone is finally over, and graduation is right around the corner. This last semester for me has all been about encouraging myself just to be myself. Embrace what makes you who you are and be happy with what you produce because it’s still something that you created and that should always be an accomplishment in its self. Things I learned while doing capstone is that critique is crucial and will help you see things you missed but also this is your project and if you feel strongly about something take ownership. Secondly, follow your skillsets but still push yourself. I started my first capstone semester partnered with an industrial design student who wanted me to do an interface for his product. I’m not an interaction designer, I’m a motion designer, and at first, I tried to bend the project to fit my needs. It took a lot for me to step back, realize I was digging myself a hole and make a decision to change direction and move on. Don’t be afraid to make tough decisions that need to be made; let me remind you this is your project. Lastly, have fun! This is a huge daunting project, and the last thing you want to do is dread working on it. Remember that it is just a project and you don’t need to find the cure to cancer (unless you’re into that then by all means).

--

--