Update 1: Direction Solidified

Having given some thought about what I want to achieve, the story I want to tell, and the strengths that I have, I decided on taking my learning from over the past year at FlareAgent (startup where we automate and simplify real estate transactions), and present it in a manner a first time home buyer, someone right out of college interested in financial literacy, or just someone who hasn’t purchased a home in a while but is interested in the new options of doing so, would benefit from.

In other words, I want to combine my experience in the startup world, real estate, and media to bring together a really interesting and unique senior project.

Many youngins (especially those in college) are very afraid of financial literacy, or understanding how to save for the long term, and definitely of large words like real estate transactions, that have very little implications to a day-to-day life for most of them. This includes me.

I was really confused when I first joined FlareAgent, as to what the real estate space even was, and what could be done to add value to it. It just seemed like a really old, slow moving, boring industry.

Well some of this was true.

While being the single largest industry in the country, it is also one of the most ancient.

Most of the processes involved today, were determined over 100 years ago, and have barely changed. This means there’s a lot of inefficiencies, and ways technology can make this better, but hasn’t yet.

In acknowledging that there have been efforts by different groups of people to improve this in the past 5 years especially, it can quickly get confusing, especially for someone who isn’t involved in the industry.

In fact, I’ve been studying this space very closely for the past year, and I still learn something new everyday, of what was, what is, or what can be.

--

--