Karley Houston: Process Documentation

Senior projects, Fall 2018

Karley Houston
Senior Projects
5 min readAug 30, 2018

--

10/11/18

Sugar Rush

  1. revise the logo, revise the branding poster, drink menu, folder, and stationary.

10/4/18

09/28/18

  1. yes the designers name is clearly the main focus of the logo. everyone liked all the logos i did but i felt that people liked the one in the square the best.
  2. the logo communicates professionalism and looks very modern. very good contrast even in black and white.
  3. i did multiple type trials and everyone liked the one with the star next to it and thought the typeface went really well with the logo mark.
  4. this logo would definitely work at a small scale and i dont think it would lose interest if blown up.
  5. definitely the black and white with the box logo has a lot of positive negative space and the logo mark is taken out of the square. the is also good positive and negative space in the other when you see the line it makes.
  6. i started to think about color and i wanted something to stand up to black and red is always a good color to go with black but im not set on the color i will do many variations.

Rational for identity system:

i really want to deconstruct my logo and make patterns or just use the shapes in many ways through out my identity system. i made a couple patterns already and i like the dots and i really like the one crazy pattern that uses all the elements from the logo, not the diamond one. i really want a bold color to go with everything and i really like the idea of the color that goes on the edge of the business card i think that would look really sharp and clean.

09/21/18

09/11/18

Mission statement:

Professional Mission Statment:

My name is Karley I am a young Graphic Designer who is eager to learn all I can in the field. I would love to be rounded in all areas of the field. I am very passionate about anything that lets me be creative. I am currently working as an in house UX designer but I also have a passion for print design and would like to expand that and eventually get a job where I can grow as a print designer. I would love to work in a design firm were I could work with other designers and learn all I can from them. I would also love to do free lance work were I can work exclusively with clients and work on my own schedule. I am a very quick learner and I love learning new things to improve my work and I always strive try to keep my designs bright, bold, and beautiful.

Example of portfolio displays:

Portfolio Project Questions:

  1. Urbn Annual Report
  2. Re-due all the Hand written type, re-due the financial section,
  3. the order of the sections would be a big help. a fresh eye on the design. and options of what to improve.
  4. f
  5. Slip Cover could be added,

10/3/18

3 studios: Niche Social,Commonwealth press ,nakturnal

Domain name: karleyhoustondesign.com

ordered Flaunt

Resume Draft

--

--