Nick Wilkinson: Process Documentation

Senior Projects, Fall 2018

Nick Wilkinson
Senior Projects
7 min readSep 6, 2018

--

Portfolio Case Wells:

I am adding a photo well but havent decide on what photos to put in yet.(thinking of having 8.5x11 photos with 2 ribbons in a single well separating them. Portraits/everyday stuff, then music photography)Also those business cards arent mounted in because im waiting for the ordered ones to come in!

Updated Website:

https://nickwilkinson.myportfolio.com

Leave Behind:

Week 11:

Revised Stationary:

new and modified logo trials.

Week 8–10: Struggle Bus with my personal branding.

I went back the original logo to try soemthing new with different colors. But I believe it was too loud for something that represents me.

I attempted something new… It wasn’t loved ! so i went back to the drawing board with my original logo in week 11. but here it is.

Week 7:

We didn't critique the 3rd project.

Style Tiles:

Logo Stationary:

Week 6:

Critique:

What I heard: I didnt have 20 versions, but the class agreed on using the business card with the logo that covers almost the whole front. Also to use the text format from the one vertical card. Also i heard to take out “mobile”. It’s just uneeded.

What I think: I was already on the same page as the class. Which is also a reason i didn’t get to doing all variations. Early on in designing them I got to the fronts solution that I wanted to use! Very glad everyone agreed.

What I’m going to do: I just need to redo the back of the vertical card the class told me to go forward with but in the horizontal format.

Week 5:

Trials:

Digital Logos:

Thumbnail Sketches:

I’m home and they’re at school…. will add these.

Attempt to create something along the lines of this. with the logo I end up using. use at different weights and scales.

Week 4:

I jsut thought this was cool. was in printmaking and saw “bhive” so i added some Es to make it.

Personal Brainstorming:

Logo Sketches:

Resume Reworks: (inspiration)

Project 1 Photos:

Week 3:

Project 1 Revisons:

Ideas for documenting:

-Possibly use a mock up of an ipad and it being viewed through a screen cause its a video. Or even on a street side sign/billboard.

-Also i can photograph the box before and after the glue/liquid drip and edit to my liking.

Personal Mission Statment:

Professional Goals Statement:

Week 1:

We were to select 3 studios from the list Brigett provided to set up a potential studio visit. Also join AIGA, order Flaunt and look into a domain name for your personal portfolio website.

Week 2:

How about you?

doamin name for personal portfolio website

I had a resume from when I was applying for my internships this past summer. After seeing the example and the experince gained this summer i still need to update it.

Class Crit:

What I think: I think that my motion poster has so much potential with the ideas given in class.

What I heard: I heard plenty of good ideas. One being the fact the I can add to this and create still posters, tickets, etc. This project alone being redone, with the resources I’ve gained just over these first two weeks and classmates suggestions, can be taken in many directions to increase its concept and impact. Also I heard that I should change the color of the drip. Another suggestion was that i should’nt digitaly make the text I should physically assemble my own juice carton.

What I’m going to do: After hearing all the suggestions, I want to refilm the homemade carton with a new color of glue dripping. I need to add more to the package and change around the hierarchy to really get the information an easy find for the viewer. I will also incorporate the ability to use lights and quality video equipment now that I am in film.

--

--