Closing a Chapter With an Open Mind

Yoana
Seniors in Leadership
4 min readDec 5, 2019

Late on a Tuesday night Yordanka Savova sits on her bed, books spread out around her, a laptop in her hands, and a look of determination on her face. She bites her lip as she finishes yet another sentence of her senior thesis, her movements quick and precise. Intense and sleepless nights like these are perceived as a staple of the senior lifestyle but this is even truer of Yordanka who is currently working on two senior theses; one in Political Science and one in History and Civilizations.

“History- this is what I’ve wanted to do since the beginning,” says Yordanka. Her interest in the subject began when she watched Indiana Jones and Tomb Raider as a child. From this point on, she was determined to become an archaeologist and learn about ancient civilizations. Her fascination with history continued during high school and she went to study in the National School for Ancient Languages and Cultures.

Upon coming to AUBG, Yordanka wanted to major in history but her mother was against it at first. With regard to her choice of majors Yordanka explains, “I was interested in politics before AUBG and I wanted to learn more. It was like a compromise with my mom because she wanted me to learn law and I wanted to learn history, so I chose Political Science as something in-between. Then, I realized double-majoring was an option and I choose History as my second major, though I don’t think my mom is too happy about that.”

Yordanka reveals that she has sometimes felt pressure to study something more practical “It is natural for people to want to gain from everything they do right away. This is why majors like Business Administration are very popular. It gives you the opportunity for quick material gain. On the other hand, I think this is why few people are interested in history. It is beneficial but in a more subtle way; it gives you general knowledge, it helps broaden your horizons, and it allows you to understand why and what is happening in the world.”

Still, Yordanka is not discouraged about her future prospects. She firmly believes that it is enough for a person to do what they are passionate about. “I think if you really like your job and you are doing you very best, then money will inevitably follow. Sure, you might not make as much money as in another job but you can make enough to survive and be happy. ”

Yordanka starts fiddling with her hair band as she begins to talk about life after graduation. “Some people have concrete ideas and know exactly what they will be doing when they are done with AUBG. I am not one of those people, and I know many more like myself”. She has recently discovered she is interested in community psychology after taking a class with Professor Harvey and is now considering doing a Master’s degree in this field. According to her, political science and psychology are similar in that they both can be used to improve people’s lives “The main difference” she explains, “is that community psychology is a bottom-up approach and politics is a top-down approach. While politics can be more effective, I like psychology because you become involved with people on a personal level”.

Yordanka says she believes it is alright for a person to take some time before deciding on their life path. This is why she will be taking a gap year in which she will volunteer with different organizations. Yet, there are some things she is certain of. “I know I want to stay in Bulgaria and make it a better place. At a later point in my life I also want to get into politics. I really love Bulgarian politics. At the same time I am kind of afraid to do it because it is very corrupt… but that’s fine.”

Yordanka also knows she will never stop improving herself, “I don’t want to stop learning, ever. It is important to me to keep expanding my mindset. In my free time, I enjoy listening to podcasts, reading books or just watching films and shows and being presented to new ideas”, she says. In the eye of her long-term friend Ivanela Arabadzhieva, Yordanka is “one of the smartest, most persistent people I’ve ever met — she has a passion and determination for the things she loves that you’ll rarely see in anyone.”

It is often the case that Yordanka is inspired by people and their work. For example, she credits her favorite band, Pink Floyd, with sparking her interest in politics, “My favorite album is The Wall and I think it has helped me shape my understanding of the world because I have loved it for 10 years, I listen to it at least once a month and I am still not tired of it.”

People are also the main reason she is sad about graduating. “There are AUBG professors who have really changed my way of thinking and I really appreciate that. I think they’ve played a big role in my life and that of many other students.” Yordanka also says she truly appreciates the sense of community at AUBG “If you are crying in Skapto because you don’t know how to use your statistics calculator, like I have done, and then you just walk and cry, somebody will eventually help you and then you will end up with an A on your final. It is a great community to be in, since everyone helps one another and I will miss it dearly. ”

###
Yoana Misheva is a senior at AUBG studying Political Science and International Relations. She is also uncertain about exactly what she wants to do with her life after graduating.

--

--