How I choose Design as a career path

Oluwapelumi Aina-Badejo
Senpai Collective

--

As a kid I loved drawing, as far back as I can remember, I tried to put what I saw in forms on paper.

Fast forward to a few years later in secondary school, the love for drawing began to wane as I was distracted by other things and to me I viewed being an artist as a not so profitable career so i just stopped.

It wasn’t until when we were preparing for exams during my last year in High School that the love for creativity rekindled, though the flame was still small. I went on to study Computer Science in the University

I was introduced to CorelDRAW during my IT at a computer school, it was there the link between my passion and a career option was fully established and reignited. I used every spare time I had to make logos, flyers etc. When I went back to school, I enrolled for a Graphics/Web Design course in our Entrepreneurial Development Program in other to further develop myself.

I got more exposure in Design when I started work for an IT company as I was in charge of designing event banners, flyers and also email banners.

After graduation I decided to fully take up Design as a full-time career and I haven’t turned back ever since.

--

--