Online Remote Internships — The Future of Work (My experience With Start.ng)

Kadijat Modupeola Okeowo
Senpai Collective
Published in
2 min readNov 6, 2019
Photo by Victor on Unsplash

Like the many unfitting shapes on the architectural beauty above (yeah I love buildings,don’t choke 😉), I had tried to figure out a way to get working experience remote the first half of 2019 especially in my area of interests Digital Marketing and software development largely because I couldn’t leave home and move to another city and majorly because I had started taking classes in web development from freeCodeCamp and digital marketing classes from @google digital skills from their grow with google initiative (I am Nigerian by the way 😄).

start.ng is a remote initiative started by Hotels.ng founded by Mark Essien. Its a starting step for those new to software development where students are taught on front-end development, back-end development, digital marketing, UI/UX design, machine learning etc.

start,g website’s image

The Online remote internship is in two phases: The foundational class start.ng and the main internship HNGI where you would paired with other interns to form teams and work on real-life projects.

Coming across this remote internship has being a life-changing experience for as it has helped me to learn both life and work skills such as networking with people, collaboration, empathy, critical thinking, remote working tools such as @slack, GitHub as well as improve my communication skills as I had to document what I had learnt via writing blogposts using Lucid (a blogging platform built by past interns, Medium and a host of blogging platforms etc.

The online remote internship has impacted me in ways that I never thought and opened my world-view and helped adapt into the modern digital work space the world has currently evolved into and has made me feel not left behind especially with the world in-view.

Thank you for reading, do take part in the next edition of the internships am positive it will impact your life in ways that you aren’t expecting!!!

--

--

Kadijat Modupeola Okeowo
Senpai Collective

Alpha Female on a lifetime learning spree. Passionate about the synergy of design+technology+art+business.