I Stayed In Prague For Less Than $10 A Day

Ali Mai
Sense With Cents
Published in
4 min readJul 10, 2024

--

Caffeteria with outdoor seating covered by an awning.
Photo by Luis Núñez: https://www.pexels.com/photo/people-sitting-outside-caffetteria-during-daytime-105066/

FROM THE BAR

I was in a bar in Prague and my money was running out. Sure, the beer tasted great, but with my low income and high overheads, I would soon be forced to take the next plane home.

As fate would have it, I was in the right place at the right time. I had made friends with some cricket enthusiasts who were on a world tour and were drinking it up big time. We soon hit the clubs and danced till the early hours. At the end of the night, I was looking for love.

I saw Tamara sitting at the bar. She had a different look to the other women I had met that night. My friend suggested I go over and talk with her.

It didn’t take long before we hit it off. I soon discovered Tamara was Slovak and worked as a teacher at a local English school. I was part-time, at best, doing the same thing. I offered to walk her home and ended up staying the night. We slept through most of the morning and nursed our hangovers in the afternoon.

The next day we went for sushi and things got more intimate. It was Sunday afternoon when I said goodbye to Tamara after exchanging numbers. Throughout the week I contacted her and soon we were a couple.

TO THE DORMITORY

--

--