Stay away from these scams and save your money

A quick guide to avoid being taken for a ride

Ali Mai
Sense With Cents

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/man-in-black-suit-jacket-holding-smartphone-3778680/

A man came to the front door today. He was well-dressed and well-spoken. He was offering investment opportunities at an amazing 10 percent. I haven’t dealt with this face-to-face before. My barriers were up, but this guy was a real pro. He complimented me on my house (not mine, I rent) and started to befriend me. I kind of fell for his act until he started trying to get my details like many con artists before him.

The friendly scammer

It got me thinking about how many ways I have had people try and steal from me. One time me and my friend were approached in the street after a hard day’s work. I can’t remember what he was selling us, but the offer was we would pay him cash and he would later meet us with the product. Once the cash reached his hands he was never seen again.

It was a classic mistake of blindly trusting a person without knowing who you are dealing with. Business normally works with receiving items and then paying for them afterward. If you pay first, you are asking for trouble. This is most common in online shopping, where sometimes the goods offered and the goods received can be different. It can be a hell of a process of changing what you have or getting your money back.

--

--