SENSE WITH CENTS

The Art of Accountable Accounting

The little book of budgeting

Debra Urbacz
Sense With Cents
Published in
5 min readJun 15, 2024

--

A calculator and some coins with a note partially hidden under a bright orange purse.
Photo by Katie Harp on Unsplash

There have been several ocassions where I have been in the precarious situation of balancing a tiny budget, leaving home, backpacking and a messy divorce are three that spring to mind.

And by far the strategy that has supported me best in my quest to provide myself with essential shelter, warmth and sustenance has been keeping a financial diary.

I know that sounds incredibly boring, but hear me out!

There are many obstacles that interfere with the enjoyment factor of life, and not taking responsibility for your personal finances is most certainly one of them.

Simple but effective

Making yourself accountable for what you are spending on a daily basis is a profitable habit to adopt, as it often highlights where you overspend.

There are always going to be expenses that you have no control over, and you can’t manifest funds that you don’t have, but keeping a close eye on incomings and outgoings definitely helps you to feel in control of your money.

Whether you are making a small income stretch or managing your debts, having a method of recording your finances is good practice. I started this when I…

--

--

Debra Urbacz
Sense With Cents

A freethinking, treehugging child of the 70s - writing - creating - connecting - community building - looking for magic in everyday things and places.