What I Learned From My Parents About Money

A minimalist approach to living

Ali Mai
Sense With Cents

--

A person holding a globe at their side as they watch the sunset.
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

The World (or how I perceive it)

There are a lot of ideas about how to make money online. I’ve followed some of the links and found that a lot of these sites require money to start producing income. They follow the adage of spending money to make money.

I was never a fan of this kind of thing. Impressing people with money is something I would never consider doing. In my past, I’ve seen these people get rich but end up losing everything over lifestyle choices.

Growing up with parents from the 60s

I grew up in a minimalist world where spending big was frowned upon. Living within one’s own means was everything. Yet it was okay to spend up large on something that was necessary.

My parents were brought up by people who had lived through the Depression and post WW2. Having to resort to postage stamps to pay for basic items installed in my parents a conservative approach to spending.

Later in life, my parents became more modernized, and I think they think back to their past as being a little too frugal. However, the penny-saving in their youth afforded them money in the bank that could pay for lavish trips abroad and new vehicles every few years. Living for tomorrow worked…

--

--