SENSE WITH CENTS

Why I Ditched the 3-Step Skin Care Routine at Thirty

And other myths peddled by consumerism

Debra Urbacz
Sense With Cents
Published in
5 min readAug 1, 2024

--

A bottle of a chemical substance.
Photo by Natasha Kendall on Unsplash

A woman of a similar age complimented me on my youthful skin a few weeks ago. Now, at fifty-four it would be ridiculous to think I wouldn’t have a few wrinkles by now, but I thanked her graciously for her kind words.

In all honesty, I have noticed since turning fifty that the texture of my skin has changed and more lines have appeared but I gave up on vanity a long while ago. I don’t let it occupy more than a moment of my thoughts on any given day.

I don’t feel I need to, as I take care of my skin and it takes care of itself. Plus there’s more to life than just having fabulous skin!

The impressionable years

I had an awful complexion as a teen. It was greasy and prone to spots and blackheads, like many young people hitting puberty I expect. Because of this I became obsessed with products that were marketed to ‘degrease’ it and keep the hormonal acne at bay.

I suppose it worked, up to a point. Though my skin often looked blotchy and lumpy. I can laugh now, but the very first time I applied foundation on my pallid face I looked like I had plastered it with porridge — oh those awkward adolescent years.

--

--

Debra Urbacz
Sense With Cents

A freethinking, treehugging child of the 70s - writing - creating - connecting - community building - looking for magic in everyday things and places.