Metabolic and Mental Health

L-Citrulline Malate: Six Health Benefits Based on Science and Two Decades of Experience

I discuss the advantages of citrulline malate, especially for heart health, and how it can improve fitness and health.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA
Published in
10 min readJun 10, 2022

--

Photo by Pavel Danilyuk on Pexels

A Valuable Amino Acid for Nitric Oxide Production

What if I say we have a nutrient that might improve heart and brain health, bringing extra benefits like exercise performance and even addressing erectile dysfunction for some men?

I am talking about citrulline, which is not an ordinary molecule in the body. Fortunately, using it safely for over two decades, I gained significant health and fitness benefits that I want to pass along.

My inspiration to write this article came after posting a story about reducing the risks of heart disease and stroke.

In the story, one of the steps was about the value of nitric oxide for heart health. I briefly mentioned citrulline, and some subscribers showed interest in that.

I read a lot about the role of citrulline in the body and brain in the early 1990s. However, it only attracted my attention in 1998 when Dr. Louis Ignarro’s nitric oxide…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com