Mental Health

A Metaphorical Angel Who Taught Me My Priorities

Here’s How I Learned to Do Less but Achieve More, Lowering My Cognitive Load

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA
Published in
8 min readFeb 7, 2020

--

Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

My secret to success for decades

This title may sound paradoxical, but it is a proven life hack. At least from my experience!

In this article, I aim to share my story, including insights gained from a distinguished research supervisor who helped me understand the importance of focusing on situations that truly mattered in my life. I believe the principles can apply to any discipline.

My purpose in this article is to emphasize the benefits, how to apply the simple principle of “doing less, achieving more,” and explain how I turned it into a productive habit in my life.

Doing less and achieving more is a principle I learned in the early 90s during my doctoral studies. One of our senior lecturers, who was also one of my research supervisors, taught me to focus on essential tasks to complete my studies on time.

Due to the nature of research-based studies, one can easily be distracted and digress to many other attractive ideas and diverse content not necessarily core to the fundamental idea being researched.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com