Health and Well-Being

Here’s the Difference Between Genetics and Epigenetics.

DNA testing is a two-edged sword, but understanding the power of epigenetics can address the concerns

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
7 min readMar 16, 2020

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

This article briefly shares key points on DNA tests and my personal views based on my experience. I also acknowledge the common concerns in the literature related to genetics and DNA information and provide my approach to address these concerns.

As a technologist and sensible biohacker, genetics (DNA) testing has interested me. From a technological standpoint, it is an innovative and valuable technology. From a personal development perspective, it is an insightful tool.

However, genetic information is considered evil by some people. Even my family physician did not support my choice of DNA testing. One of the physicians characterized it as a waste of money. However, I have compassion and respect for opponents’ views as they have personal and scientifically proven reasons.

DNA testing for personal information is a controversial topic globally. There are mainly three groups. People in the first group support it. Those who are in the second group are against it. Finally, people in the third group are unaware or do not care about it.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com