Mental Health

Here’s How I Healed Depressive Feelings by Scheduling and Prioritizing Fun.

We need to trick the mind by planning pleasure.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
9 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

Photo by Surface on Unsplash

Significance of Intentional Fun in Life

Having purposeful fun daily makes us happier, more joyful, and more productive. It also helps us have better relationships with our beloved ones, friends, and colleagues. Fun and pleasure can be the best investment in our health and well-being.

This story does not encourage hedonistic tendencies. It is about the therapeutic use of fun and joy to address mental health disorders by taking personal responsibility.

I experienced mild depression at a younger age. Living with depression is not fun. Learning to schedule and prioritize fun helped me beat my depressive feelings, made me happier, and gave me a joyful life. I am grateful for these opportunities. I share my unique experience and life hacks in this article.

Intentional fun is essential because we are hard-wired to experience negative emotions. This wiring serves the purpose of survival. Our several brain regions compete with others, and most of the time, the anxious part wins. I shared my experience with this anxious and worrying part in my article titled How To Deal With

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com