Science and Health

Here’s How Stress Impacts Us at a Genetic Level and How to Address It with Lifestyle Changes.

Stress exposure can modify DNA methylation, leave a long-lasting impact on our genetic profile, and impact our health and longevity.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA
Published in
9 min readJun 21, 2022

--

Photo by Nathan Cowley on Pexels

Less Spoken Aspect of Stress

Possibly your perceptions, beliefs, and views on stress will change after reading this article. I look at the genetic aspect, which is less spoken about.

Readers wonder why I write a lot about stress. I write about stress because it matters for our health, well-being, longevity, creativity, productivity, and relationships.

My goal in this article is to focus on the less known and less vocal aspects of stress based on my reviews and experience.

This piece is not a scientific paper, but the ideas are backed up by science, even though the body of knowledge is still limited and rising slowly.

Thus, I’d like to create awareness of my best knowledge and experience.

People usually perceive stress as a psychological construct.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com