Spirituality, Mentoring, Public Speaking

Here’s Why Larry King’s Death Touched Me Deeply Today.

Larry King was a special and spiritual mentor to me for many years.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
7 min readJan 29, 2021

--

Photo by Samrat Khadka on Unsplash

Larry’s wisdom found me like an angel when I desperately needed it the most. This personal story reflects fond memories of the 1990s.

When I heard Larry died at 87, on 24 January 2021, a few drops of tears appeared in my eyes unconsciously. Tears in my eyes were an unusual occurrence for me because I had not seen any tears in my stoic eyes for many years. After some thinking and checking my journal, it became clear.

I had multiple entries about Larry King in my diary starting from 1995. The most prominent one was when I discovered Larry’s book in an old bookshop in Downunder. The bookstore does not exist anymore.

I used to do a lot of public speaking as part of my job. Toastmasters initiated my courage in the early 1990s. Most of my speaking engagements were before smallish groups of 50 to 200 people. Managing this size of an audience became a piece of cake for me. I was looking for challenges and stretching my skills.

It was the first year of my doctoral studies. With great enthusiasm, I submitted a paper to a peer-reviewed journal. The research…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com