One Simple Point to Reduce Cortisol

Increasing the sleep quality

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
4 min readFeb 25, 2020

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

I want to introduce the positive impact of sleep quality on reducing elevated cortisol levels and keeping it at optimal levels.

Until I started monitoring my sleep quality using my smartwatch, I believed in having 8 hours of sleep. I was wrong. Analyzing the sleep logs through my smartwatch, I noticed that, even though I slept 8 hours, the quality of sleep was sometimes under six hours. It was evident in my overall feelings. Something was not right.

It was elevated cortisol levels detected in my blood checks.

The culprit was inadequate quality sleep.

An insightful conversation with my doctor motivated me to re-architect my sleep habits.

I reviewed the body of knowledge using PubMed and identified the key factors affecting quality sleep. Based on my findings, I took a few measures to improve the quality of my sleep.

Let me share these seven minor adjustments which made a real impact on increasing the quality of sleep.

1. I ensured my bedroom was dark enough. To maintain the darkness, I started using an eye mask that enabled absolute darkness during sleep hours.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com