Childhood Memories

One Wise Advice from My Grandma That Made Me Wealthy and Happy

Lessons from childhood snail hunting experiences on a Mediterranean farm over a half-century ago

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
8 min readDec 9, 2023

--

The author created the image using Adobe Fryfly to reflect childhood memories.

My First Encounter with the Money Concept and Lessons Learned

My grandparents used to live in a Mediterranean country and bought a farm after their retirement. This farm was my haven where I connected with nature from the early years of my life.

Our parents used to take us there during long weekends and school holidays. I never wanted to leave the farm as it brought me so much joy with all the Mediterranean fruit trees, including oranges, mandarins, apples, cherries, and plumbs.

I also loved the grapevines and olive trees that I climbed. Playing with animals, including dogs, horses, donkeys, cows, lambs, goats, chickens, and ducks, was joyful and fun.

During the summer holiday when I was six years old, my grandparents introduced me to several children from adjacent villages. Later, I learned they supported these kids and sent them to cities for better education.

On one particular day, a few kids took me snail-hunting. It was the first time I had seen a snail…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com