Life Skills and Business

Here’s Why Problem-Solving Is the Most Valuable Skill of the Century.

Practical tips to improve problem-solving skills with insights from the cognitive psychology literature

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
9 min readJan 7, 2022

--

Photo by mentatdgt from Pexels

The world is Full of Problems

Have you ever had a day without a problem? I don’t know about you, but I have yet to have a day without solving a problem.

Many small, some medium size, and occasionally significant problems constantly emerge in my daily life. I have earned my living by solving problems for my clients for decades.

So, I solve my personal problems and the problems of others. Therefore, I see problems as necessary challenges for my survival and growth.

I paid my mortgages and student loans by solving problems. This is the only skill that never lost its importance and never became obsolete in my skill toolbox.

Unfortunately, many of my technical skills became obsolete with rapidly changing technology stacks. My investment in problem-solving skills paid dividends generously.

I see problem-solving as gold in our professional skills toolbox. This fundamental skill is ubiquitous and applies to almost every job…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com