My Simple Yet Powerful Sleep Hacks

How I resolved my sleep problems to gain a better mood, improve memory, increase libido, reduce stress, and lower my health risks

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
9 min readDec 27, 2019

--

Photo by Cam Adams on Unsplash

Sleep is essential in our lives, both short-term and long-term. It plays a critical role in every aspect of our health. Most of us know this and make a conscious effort to sleep every night; however, some of us, like myself, suffer from sleep deprivation without understanding the root causes.

In this article, I want to share my experience of how I improved my sleeping problems caused by my active mind, work stress, metabolic activities, and environmental factors.

I learned the importance of sleep when I was very young and adopted the conventional wisdom of going to bed early and rising early. My aim has always been to get at least eight hours of sleep. However, I still suffered.

Until recently, I thought sleeping eight hours was enough, so I never suspected that my terrible weaknesses some days were related to sleep deprivation. Feeling sleepy and lethargic after eight hours of sleep was a mystery to me.

The awakening moment happened when I purchased my first fitness smartwatch over five years ago. The smartwatch monitored how many hours I slept, how many times I was…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com