Soulful Connections: Finding Meaning in Mammadou’s Childhood Letters

The meaning of epistolary bonds and their impact on my journey

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA

--

The author created the image with Adobe Firefly.

The year my youngest son entered the world, I was enveloped by an overwhelming wave of warmth and profound emotions toward children. During that time, my wife, just days after a challenging birthing experience, found solace in being back home with our newborn. Eager to assist her recovery, she requested that I take charge of the household responsibilities. Specifically, she asked me to handle the grocery shopping and prepare her favorite meal, seeking comfort and nourishment amidst the postpartum period.

As I completed my errands, a young woman in her twenties approached me with a gentle smile, extending a polite inquiry: “Sir, would you be interested in sponsoring a child?” She introduced me to the mission of World Vision through a brochure, and seeing the face of the CEO, someone I knew, within its pages significantly bolstered my confidence and trust in the organization.

Upon returning home, before even setting the groceries in place, I shared my deep-seated inclination toward sponsoring a child from Africa with my wife. Her response mirrored my enthusiasm, and in an emotional moment, she expressed her desire to sponsor a girl and embrace her as our own daughter. Before…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com