Philosophy

A Difficult Question: When Will Watson Die?

Imagining what might be happening 10 thousand years in the future…

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA
Published in
6 min readFeb 3, 2020

--

Photo by Gage Walker on Unsplash

I was hesitant to write about this embarrassing experience, but after having an existentialist moment, I decided to share it with a defeated-win situation. In the end… well… This is about the dramatic end of my presentation to a well-informed group on a Friday meeting.

I was attending our usual philosopher’s group consisting of friends from different professional, educational, and cultural backgrounds with a strong interest in the philosophical aspects of technology and engineering.

The group comprises distinguished thinkers and leaders from multiple technical and engineering disciplines.

It was my turn to present recent progress in cognitive science, artificial intelligence, and cognitive computing. I was excited, like a little child, to showcase my knowledge, experience, and leadership in this field.

The topic of my presentation was featuring IBM Watson. I outlined the progress Watson made on trending cognitive and artificial intelligence capabilities in medicine, helping doctors to make decisions, molecular science, analytics, IoT, and various industries using AI.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com