Can You Call Yourself Bisexual When You’ve Not Had That Kind of Sex?

Our experiences are personal, as are our labels.

Damian Delune
Sensual: An Erotic Life

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

CW/TW: Homophobia, abuse

I met Burke when we were little kids. We grew up right down the road from one another you could say. Although I moved around a lot, due to my parents never being able to keep a stable home, we pretty much stayed in the same area. Regardless of that, my grandparents always lived in the same house, right by the local high school, for the majority of my childhood and Burke lived within walking distance of their house.

We were fast friends from day one. My grandfather often made the comment that Burke was always welcome to come over and stay the night. Whenever he was around, I didn’t get in trouble. Trouble wasn’t Burke’s thing. He was quiet and sweet, preferring to spend our time together lounging in my grandparent’s pool eating ice cream sandwiches and Silver Mint bars or hanging out in my room watching movies.

What no one knew was, while we were huddled up together under the blankets, we were also holding hands.

I don’t remember exactly when we started holding hands or when this took its natural course to caresses which eventually led to kissing. All I know is it happened slowly over time. We didn’t talk about it really…

--

--

Damian Delune
Sensual: An Erotic Life

Incarcerated writer sharing real stories about life on the inside, through my wife, Demeter Delune (editor, publisher, promoter, responder)