A conversation about toxic monogamy culture | Part one

Criticizing Toxic Monogamy Culture Is Not an Argument for Polyamory

I was called out as a hypocrite for challenging my programming on social media

Ena Dahl
Sensual: An Erotic Life
7 min readNov 3, 2021

--

Last week, I was surprised by a message from a friend’s husband; a pushback against an Instagram story I re-posted, highlighting the meaning of toxic monogamy culture. The list had spoken to me as an epitome of my previous marriage and I felt compelled to share:

Seeing this in my feed had tickled my friend’s husband in the wrong way and he needed to tell me something. In his words, which admittedly made my jaw drop, I’m a “hypocrite for preaching polyamory”, because I “used to be in a long-term monogamous relationship and had a child while being in one — one where I had benefitted from the legal and spiritual protection of marriage and enjoyed life’s orderliness and easy long-term planning while being with one partner.”

Further, my way of life “can ruin young girls’ future and destine them for a life of single motherhood with an absent father”… And thus, my beliefs are…

--

--

Ena Dahl
Sensual: An Erotic Life

Multidisciplinary creatrix; conscious kink & sensuality coach, educator, author, energy worker & rope (s)witch.