Dipping My Toes Into Pride

Both literally and figuratively

Elle Beau ❇︎
Sensual: An Erotic Life

--

Image Property of the Author

Even before I went to the nail salon the other day to get a pedicure, I’d already decided that Dipping My Toes Into Pride was going to be the title of this story. When I got to the salon I discovered I could make that literally true. I could actually stick my toes into Pride month in a very concrete way. Nail polish manufacturer OPI frequently offers specialty lines of color with a certain theme to them, but I’d never seen one quite like this before. It was called Power of Hue and it was clear to me from the colors as well as the names of them that this was OPI’s Pride collection.

I ended up selecting this beachy blue, aptly named Sky True To Yourself. Some of the other colors were Bee Unapologetic (a bright yellow) and Make Rainbows (a mid-tone green). Of course, no one is going to notice that I have Pride toenail polish, and even if they did, they wouldn’t think anything of it. After all, I easily pass for a straight married woman. I probably just liked the color. But for me, it was still a small step toward being more open about who I really am.

A few weeks ago I was in Crate and Barrel and noticed that they had Pride pins available at the checkout. Some just say Pride and some say Home Is For Everyone. I’m not cool enough to know what the & sign one means, but I was proud of myself for…

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Sensual: An Erotic Life

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung