Exploring self-pleasure and its special place within a relationship.

Is it necessary

Margaret Sitawa
Sensual: An Erotic Life
4 min readFeb 23, 2023

--

Photo by Dainis Graveris on Unsplash

Masturbation has long been a contentious issue. It has long been frowned upon, suppressed, and even taboo by society. But, the reality is that self-pleasure is a healthy aspect of human relationships.

I remember the first time I indulged in self-pleasure.

With little research and a hunger for elevation, I was clueless. Since then, I have come a long way and fully appreciate the journey that brought me here. I know my body now in a way I wouldn’t have without it. In a way, it makes me feel complete. The one thing I had to depend on another person for, is in my power.

Self-pleasure allows us to experiment with our bodies, desires, and sexuality without fear of criticism, humiliation, or pressure.

It helps us understand what we enjoy and don’t like, what turns us on and off, and what we require to feel content and complete.

Our mood, sleep, and general well-being can all improve through it, and it also aids in the release of stress, tension, and worry.

What about its position inside a relationship?

--

--

Margaret Sitawa
Sensual: An Erotic Life

You'll find poems and stories with a personal touch here. Whatever you'll find, is my truth.