Love Story

4 Stanza Ottava Rima Poem

Jac Harmony
Sensual: An Erotic Life
2 min readAug 17, 2021

--

LeandroDeCarvalho — Pixabay

I’m craving the essence of your mystery,
a shadow or dream that tends to disappear.
Yet, I still want a taste of your witchery,
but like most things, it fades into yesteryear.
Do I still tickle your thoughts quite gingerly,
the way you seem to enter my atmosphere?
It’s clear how your gaze still has my heart thumping,
but crazy how dreams can fade into nothing.

Although I’m awake, my mind keeps on thinking.
Just trying to remember the fragrance of you.
But these reckless storms, where my heart keeps sinking,
continue to brood in my life’s endless queue.
Now sitting in darkness, silently drinking,
recalling the moments our love was still new.
I open your pages, to take a good look,
and find myself reading my favorite book.

But still, it seems harder for me to address
the words that I’m reading are not quite the same.
So maybe you’ve changed, like a book to impress,
with words that are written for me to reclaim.
Is that a new cover, that I can undress?
Perhaps I forgot you, and I am to blame.
For I am the one placing you on a shelf.
Instead of at you, I should look at myself!

To renew our flame, I will re-read each page,
a task I must do to make love to each word.
So, I solemnly swear, to this I’ll engage,
while plunged into you, where our paths are preferred.
A war lingers on, in this forgotten stage,
but captured by lines from your lips I am stirred.
I remembered again, your start and our end,
with a few more stories, together we’ll pen.

©️2021, Jac Harmony All rights reserved

An Ottava Rima is an Italian style poem consisting of an eight-line stanza, or multiple eight-line stanzas, following an ABABABCC, DEDEDEFF, etc. rhyming scheme. Each line should have 10 or 11 syllables.

If you like this, also see:

--

--

Jac Harmony
Sensual: An Erotic Life

Reader of beautiful words and a dreamer of creating literary art. I love to explore and try my hand at different poetry forms. Every moment is a muse!