As Much as I Love Sex With Men, I Can Always Please Myself

We can steal back our pleasure from the legislators who want to control our bodies

Danielle Loewen
Sensual: An Erotic Life

--

Photo by Marcela Alessandra at Pexels

Everyone knows those irritating parents who are forever sharing pictures of their children.

Instead, I’ve started sharing pictures of my sex toys.

There are always giggles first — no matter how bizarre the object, other women recognize what I’m showing them immediately. Somehow, it always speaks the secret language of desire. Then they lean in to get a closer look. Sometimes my friends purr with admiration.

Some hum with possibility and titillation.

They unleash delighted oooooohs followed quickly by specific questions about my toy’s abilities, settings, and texture. When I’m lucky, I’m treated to a picture of their preferred toys in return.

This is how we steal back our sexuality: brazenly. Shamelessly.

By prioritizing ourselves, our bodies, and our pleasures.
By taking pride in our pleasure.

My vibrator is my weapon of choice in this current skirmish with the patriarchy.

If I lived in Texas right now, I would not be having sex with men.

--

--

Danielle Loewen
Sensual: An Erotic Life

she/her | reader | queer feminist | recovering academic | body lover | gamer | poet & fabulist