Polyamory Fosters Sexual and Relationship Fluidity

Elle Beau ❇︎
Sensual: An Erotic Life
4 min readMar 25, 2019

--

Photo by Dawid Zawiła on Unsplash

Spring is a time for new growth, for expansion and for embracing life and love. Just a couple of days after the Vernal Equinox, my husband James and I took our ethical non-monogamy relationship to the next level when we played with our girlfriend Tamara and her pan-sexual friend Lane. It was the first opportunity for James to explore some bi-curious inclinations.

Four years ago when James and I first opened up our relationship, he agreed to my fantasy of a threesome with another man on the condition that we also find a woman to play with. We considered ourselves straight at that point, largely because we’d never had very much opportunity to be anything else and we knew we weren’t gay — and for most of our lives, those seemed like the only choices. I’ve always found some women attractive, but never enough to really seek out an opportunity to be with one. James has long been a bit curious about certain men as well. In other words, if asked if he finds men sexually attractive, he’d probably say “No, but I find that particular man attractive.”

Societal conditioning towards the binary is very strong. You’re either male or you’re female; either heterosexual or homosexual. But what James and I have come to discover is that we are both a bit sexually fluid. In general, I’m not a big fan of labels, but if I had to identify my sexual self in…

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Sensual: An Erotic Life

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung