Why it’s helpful to meditate before sex.

#2. Presence and heightened sensitivity

Margaret Sitawa
Sensual: An Erotic Life
3 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Image by Claudio_Scott from Pixabay

It’s not every time I want to have sex with my partner when he does. When I’m down and out, I prefer to keep it off. I let him know when I’m not in the mood, and he understands. Sometimes though, I’m not entirely off it but need a little time to prepare myself, and this is where meditation comes in.

I don’t take a pose or anything like that. I close my eyes, focus on myself, and imagine myself naked and ready. We’ve had great times during sex, so I relive those times. I know I want and will enjoy this. I focus on him and his awesomeness. The way he kisses my forehead when I’m feeling sad. How he makes me a delicious cup of tea every night, he knows how much I love it. The way he listens comforts me and finds ways to make me smile.

It works out because he is patient with me, and I even want more of him as we go on. So this is how meditation helps.

Relaxation and stress reduction

Relaxation of the body, mind, and spirit is good for sex. With meditation, I unwind and lessen stress. Stress and anxiety affect my capacity to enjoy the closeness and feel pleasure. Meditation creates an intimate setting before having sex.

--

--

Margaret Sitawa
Sensual: An Erotic Life

You'll find poems and stories with a personal touch here. Whatever you'll find, is my truth.