Seo Begins: My Plan To Master SEO In 12 Weeks

Rocky Maksoud
SEO Genius
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2021

--

I applied for an SEO job 3 years ago.

I went to two interviews. They looked at me and my lack of credentials and said:

“Not good enough.”

So I never got hired.

Being stubborn, I decided if nobody was going to give me a job, I’d create my own job.

So I learned SEO by creating a curriculum…

(Curriculum based off Backlinko’s Content)

…and then learning each skill one-by-one and applying it to my own site.

The result?

My site went from $10/month to a full-time income.

Although I succeeded, I felt like Bruce Wayne in Batman Begins.

Batman could beat a group of criminals when he started…

…but he was nowhere near to making an entire city fear him.

How did he make an entire city fear him?

He had to complete his training.

Likewise, I need to complete mine. I made one website work but there’s NO way I could repeat my success in another niche.

I lack skill.

In comparison, I know an SEO that can enter ANY niche and dominate.

It felt like he had his own World Engine from Superman.

He’d see a niche, turn on his World Engine and outrank everyone without breaking a sweat.

How did he do it?

He completed his SEO training.

I intend to do the same. So I created an SEO group and bought Authority Hacker Pro.

Our plan is as follows:

  1. Do course together daily
  2. Apply what we learn to our own sites
  3. Post weekly updates on Medium

The ‘SEO Genius’ group participants are as follows:

  • Tea
  • Abdul-Rahman
  • Scott
  • Rocky (myself)

We based this group off Tiger Shen’s Paper Club. He learned machine learning from scratch with a group of friends.

They ended up disbanding the group because they ALL landed machine learning jobs.

(We intend to achieve similar results.)

That said, let’s break down how this week went for me…

Week 0’s progress: 0% (0/6 modules)

What Did You Do?

  • Helped establish SEO Group Structure
  • Mapped out my course curriculum based on my goals (scaling)

What Did You Learn?

Nothing.

This was a ‘planning’ week. I helped established the structure for the SEO group and created a SEO curriculum.

Why Is It Important?

“If I only had an hour to chop down a tree, I would spend the first 45 minutes sharpening my axe.” — Abraham Lincoln.

I sharpened my SEO axe. Next week is about chopping down those modules ;)

How Will You Apply It?

I will follow the curriculum one-by-one and take exhaustive notes.

An example of my notes

Then, I’ll apply what I learn to my own site.

If you’re interested how my SEO begins journey unfolds, follow my SEO Genius publication. I’ll be posting updates weekly.

--

--

Rocky Maksoud
SEO Genius

I’m an SEO trying to get better. I teach what I learn here.