SEO Mastery Week #1: Finding Good Niches

Rocky Maksoud
SEO Genius
Published in
3 min readJun 21, 2021

--

When Doctor Strange wanted to master the mystic arts, what did he do?

He found someone that already achieved his goal…

(The Ancient One)

…and simply copied her.

He read all the stuff she recommended:

The result?

He became a master of the mystic arts in a record time of 9 months. For reference, it usually takes YEARS to master the mystic arts.

How did he do it?

He ‘cheated’ his way to the top by copying what actually works.

Do the same for SEO.

SEO is built on two things:

  1. Backlinks
  2. Content

And both of those things are dictated by your niche.

Put another way:

How hard you work will be determined by the niche you choose.

So finding a good niche is everything.

The question is…how do you find one?

There are many methods.

You can check Amazon.

You can check sites that sell successful affiliate sites (like Flippa).

I’ve found a method that works really well for me.

Since this post is public, I won’t disclose it as it’s a SEO trade secret.

But I’ll give a hint…it involves copying from people that are good at finding niches.

(Smart SEOs will know what I mean ;)

Maybe I’ll disclose my method in the future. Time will tell.

That said, here’s this week’s performance…

Week 1’s progress: 0% (0/6 modules)

What Did You Do?

  • Studied Competitors
  • Mapped out new Niche w/ Tea
  • Finalized Sales Copy (Wrote 3+ drafts)
  • Wrote 5-Step Marketing Plan

What Did You Learn?

Write More Drafts. My third draft was LEAGUES better than my first draft. The more drafts you write, the better your final copy will be.

Why Is It Important?

Joe Sugarman, legendary copywriter, once told his class:

“My first draft will be the worst out of all you. But I bet my final draft will be the best.”

He was making a point:

Your first draft’s only goal is to get the thoughts down on paper.

The remaining drafts after are simply rewrites/edits of your initial draft. Do this enough times and you’ll get great writing.

“The only kind of writing is rewriting” quote by Hemingway now makes sense.

How Will You Apply It?

  1. Handwrite great sales copy
  2. Turn off editing and write raw draft
  3. Let it sit for a day
  4. Handwrite more great sales copy
  5. Rewrite as many times as you’d like

I’ve found the more research you do, the better your sales copy will turn out.

And that sums it up for week 1. Week 2 will likely be about rolling out my niche finding machine.

If you’re interested in my SEO journey, follow me on Medium. I’ll be posting updates weekly.

--

--

Rocky Maksoud
SEO Genius

I’m an SEO trying to get better. I teach what I learn here.