The New Metropoles: From New York to Seoul Fashion Week

Michael Hurt
Seoulacious Magazine
6 min readJul 31, 2023

Korean fashion has indeed gone global. It now has global sartorial designs, as well as grander designs and master plans writ as large as the world itself. Korea’s stylistic reach has extended out so far that its tendrils have started connecting and communicating, interlocking into an aesthetic empire that stretches from Parasite to Squid Game, extends from CL to shining PSY. It is a territory where grit meets edge, and where both stodgy and venerated Tradition stands staunchly behind the Stray Kids throwing middle fingers like 2PAC said a true thug should. Despite being nurtured in a culture swaddled in Confucian conservatism, Korean stylistic verve and semiotic swagger come from a rough-and-tumble, gangster-driven modernity every bit as dark and dirty as a Park Chan-wook vengeance film, or a hard-boiled Old Boy looking for some satisfying, Old Testament payback. This Korean kind of Hardedge and Grit is exemplified in the personage of model and influencer Tyler Grosso, a man of true Seoulaciousness we met at Seoul Fashion Week last March.

Whence, Korean Fashion?

“Korean Fashion is growing. So much creativity, innovation, and style is generally coming from Asia. There have been four significant fashion capitals for decades, but I see that changing. South Korean designers are creating versatile Runway garments that function as everyday wear. Designers such as Besfxxk, Greedilous, Vegan Tiger, Seokwoon Yoon, Maison Nica, and MMAM, to name a few, are setting the pace for what Fashion can be. I first gained notice of Korean Fashion from being a part of NYFW’s event, Concept Korea in New York City. This event showcases Korean Fashion Brands and creates international exposure for these designers.

South Korean Fashion does a great job of creating its unique niche in Fashion. The materials, designs, and concepts are consistently elevated from streetwear-focused lines to high-end clothing brands — many designers prominently standout out by creating wearable art. Accessories, such as eyewear, jewelry, and bags, are also heavily used in their fashion lines. I love playing with looks and getting multiple outfits from one outfit. South Korea Fashion is about reinventing traditional and fundamental attire while making it different and repurposed.

Seoul Fashion Week, 2023

This past March, traveling to South Korea for the first time has been an eye-opening experience. I fell in love with South Korea and can see why there has been a buzz around its Fashion brands. During my trip, I visited Gyeongbokgung Palace, (Myeong-dong, Gangnam-gu, and Itaewon-dong) neighborhoods, the Gwangjang Market, and the Dongdaemun Design Plaza, where I walked the runway as a model during SFW.

Throughout my travels in South Korea, it was evident that everyone has an eye for Fashion. South Koreans are all very well-dressed. As a fashion lover, I admire people’s take and interpretation of what Fashion looks like on themselves. From the colors to the cuts to enhancing the basics, my consensus is that South Korea is at the top of the list regarding the best-dressed population. I was very impressed to see how Korean Fashion is in person.

Being in South Korea was a great experience. I was in Seoul for nine days, and after SFW, I did a lot of shopping, hung out with some fashion designers at their boutiques, and had an unforgettable culinary experience. Since I am a vegan, I thought it would be challenging to find places to eat, but I was pleasantly surprised to find many vegan options. I was fortunate to have some friends who live in Seoul, and they took me around and showed me the “Real Seoul.” I visited many great fashion shops, a few karaoke spots, cafes, and bubble tea stops; most beautifully, I got lost in the city.

Korea, the “Sleeping Giant”

Korean Fashion is a sleeping Giant ready to take over. I see a push to incorporate Korean Fashion brands into America. I am starting to see some great collaborations. Seeing South Korean Stars such as Lisa from Blackpink working with Celine, Kwon Ji-yong, aka G-Dragon, working with Chanel, and Lee Ji-eun, aka IU working with Gucci; shows that these Fashion Titans are trying to work with South Korean influencers and reach the Asian market. South Korea is growing more accepting of trusting their clothes and their process to work in other markets. The beauty brand Mac Cosmetics has made a tremendous stride to have a significant presence in South Korea by pushing beauty products in a Country known for flawless skin.

America fully accepts and welcomes South Korean brands and designers into its marketplace. Living in New York City, I see the trends firsthand and American fascination and interest in Asian Fashion. For example, there is a concept store in Soho called 3NY. The owner, Sam Desner, travels around Asia buying clothes for his store. Many brands inside the store come from South Korea, and his store is unique for that exact reason. You can not purchase some of these runway pieces or fashion collections online or at any other store within the city. When I go shopping there and wear South Korean clothes, it never ceases to amaze me how often I get stopped and asked what I am wearing. Korean Fashion is extraordinary, and things are in the works to permanently bring Korean Fashion to America.

Korean Fashion, Rising

I have always been interested in visiting South Korea, and when an opportunity to travel to South Korea arose, I gladly accepted. I had a chance to walk in a few runways during SFW, and a South Korean Fashion brand hired me, Greedilous, to participate in a lookbook campaign and a commercial that would be later turned into a Billboard in Time Square, New York City. SFW was a fantastic experience, where I met some great Fashion designers, models, and lovers of Fashion. While out there, I also worked with Team Viva to create great content on my Instagram, wearing South Korean Clothing throughout Seoul.

After SFW, YounHee Park, the owner of Greedilous, and I worked on a few projects. She wanted to create something creatively different while appealing to America and other markets. I was honored to work with her on her vision and was delighted with the results. Her drive, passion, and creativity are so impressive. She is truly an innovator in the space, and her show during SFW was a standout during the week. She and I have become good friends, and I look forward to working with her again.

Overall, my time in South Korea was very memorable. I met amazing people and was fortunate enough to witness the shift of attention being placed on South Korean Fashion designers. Modest yet hungry for Global success, Fashion comes naturally to South Koreans. Experimenting with elements and abstract concepts on simple garments is fun to watch. Seoul is set up to create a large stage for its designers and Fashion brands, and I see it happening right before my eyes. I will return next SFW, and I am excited to see how Korean Fashion continues to evolve and take the lead in the Fashion World.

--

--

Michael Hurt
Seoulacious Magazine

A visual sociologist writing, teaching, and shooting in Seoul since 2002.